UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Germany has no fewer than 42 UNESCO World Heritage Sites; but the country’s very first, back in 1993, was right here in SouthWest Germany. That was Maulbronn Monastery. Today, SouthWest Germany boasts six UNESCO World Heritage Sites; added in 2017 were the Caves and Ice Age Art in the rolling hills of the Swabian Alb. 

Insel Reichenau


freely accessible / always open

The Monastic Island of Reichenau

Only 3 miles/5 km long, this tiny island of Lake Constance is notable for its Benedictine Monastery.

Caves and Ice Age art in the Swabian Jura