Menu
Special museum

Black Forest Ski Museum

Erlenbrucker Straße 35,  79856 Hinterzarten

Who invented it? Skiing is a tradition in the Black Forest Highlands. The over 300-year old Hugenhof shows how skiing became a sport, from its beginnings in the Black Forest by the Feldberg around 1890 and how it spread to the European low mountain ranges. Partially wheelchair accessible, separate entrance.  

Official content of Hinterzarten

Ihre Sicherheit liegt uns am Herzen

Informationen zur Corona Pandemie. Verordnungen, getroffene Schutzmaßnahmen und Angebote. Hier finden Sie einen aktuellen Überblick…

The stories of successful athletes, such as Georg Thoma (Olympic Nordic Combination Champion) or Christl Cranz (alpine skier), are told here. The museum also shows how skis and skiing equipment are made and provides a presentation of colourful ski accessories. It also shows skiing films and showcases medals, trophies, and starting numbers. In short, it illustrates the sport’s exciting transition, from wooden skis to today’s snowboard. Winter landscapes, painted around 1900, enrich the historical Black Forest farm. In 1999, part of the attic was used as a space for special exhibitions. Since then, the ski museum holds around four exhibitions each year, presenting contemporary artwork.  

Hours of operation

How to find us