Breisach am Rhein
Former Jewish congregation rooms. Built before 1691 near the old ‘’Kupfertor’’ (Copper Gate) and old city trench. Until 1829 restaurant ‘’Zum St. Peter’’. 1829-1940 owned by the Jewish congregation as a synagogue, school, and accommodation for teachers and the cantor. Prayer room in top floor after destruction of the synagogue in 1938 and until deportation of Breisach´s last Jewish citizens on 22.20.1940. Thereafter factory rooms and residential accommodation. Purchase and restoration by the “Supporters of the Former Jewish Congregation Rooms” organization, completion of restoration as event and meeting rooms with a small museum in 2003.
Official content of
The Blue House is a memorial and educational site for the history of the Jews on the Upper Rhine. The permanent exhibition "Jewish Life in Breisach 1931,
events and educational offers at the authentic place remind of
the life of the Jewish communities, the coexistence of Christians and
Jews and the violent end of the Nazi dictatorship in 1940.
establish current contemporary references.
"We need places of concrete remembrance" (Landtag President Peter
Straub, January 2000). That is why the sponsoring association became active, which has
the former Jewish community center in Breisach am Rhein in order to preserve it for the
preserve and use it for the town and its visitors. The authenticity
experience of memorial sites teaches us that the authenticity of a place makes history
history becomes vivid in the present, so that we can learn from it. In
more than 700 years of history come to life within the walls of the house.