Since its opening in 1824, the Kurhaus with its striking column front has been a center piece of social life in Baden-Baden.
no info available
Show parking spaces
Year of construction 1821 – 1824
Architect Friedrich Weinbrenner (1766 – 1826)
Since its opening in 1824, the Kurhaus with its striking column front has been the center piece of social life in Baden-Baden. As a “Conversations-house” it was constructed in the classicist style according to the plans of architect Friedrich Weinbrenner, by extending an already existing building from the 18th century.
Originally, the Kurhaus contained various social areas, an exciting theatre, peaceful reading rooms,a restaurant and a casino.
In 1838 Eduard Benazet took over the casino as a tenant and created the unique neo-baroque look which still exists today.
The Kurhaus changed it´s look once again in 1912 -1917 and significant changes were made by the architect August Stürzenacker (1871 – 1951).
Today, the Kurhaus houses the casino, a restaurants, a concert hall, a large ballroom and several smaller rooms for special purposes.