It is believed to be one of the oldest villages in Calw County.
The continuous settlement of the area is also shown in some very interesting finds from ancient times. For example, the Villa Rustica was excavated here, which points to traces of the Romans, and an Alemannic cemetery was discovered.
Many well-preserved half-timbered houses adorn the charm of the streets of Stammheim, the oldest piece of jewellery, built in 1464 (reconstructed in 1739), is known as a fisherman’s house. During the great fire on 20 April 1945, the building was spared.
The town also boasts Europe’s largest wooden, upper-pitched water mill wheel, which has an astonishing diameter of 11. 5 metres and 80 shovels. It drives the former grain mill, which was in operation until 1957.
On hot days, the outdoor swimming pool Stammheim invites you to a refreshing refreshment. Worth seeing is the historic castle ruin Waldeck. This can be discovered, for example, as part of the hiking route Ruine Waldeck and the largest mill wheel in Europe.
From a culinary point of view, the Calwer coffee roastery entices its visitors with a wide range of hot drinks.