Schloss Eberstein, 76593Gernsbach
For more than 700 years, the Eberstein Castle has been enthroned high above the wild and romantic Murg valley. Today, it houses a nobel hotel and restaurant. Eberstein Castle - now a nobel hotel
no info available
no info available
Show parking spaces
Built in 1272 by the Count of Eberstein, the castle had belonged to the Margrave of Baden since the 17th
century. In 2000 it became privately owned and has been lovingly restored. Today, the castle is a 4* superior hotel with 14 rooms. Wine and culinary connoisseurs will also get their money's worth in the gourmet restaurant and castle tavern. Awarded a star in the Michelin Guide, Bernd Werner creates an original, light, Baden-French gourmet cuisine. From the terrace, you can enjoy a wonderful view over the castle's own vineyards and the Murg valley. The main grape varieties are Riesling and Pinot Noir.
Eberstein Castle and its history
The symbol of the Murg valley, Eberstein Castle, is enthroned on a rocky outcrop high above Obertsrot. Until 2000, it served as the residence of the margravial family and is now privately owned. The castle, built between 1235 and 1272, was the seat of the Counts of Eberstein until the family died out in 1660. A little later it fell to the Margraves of Baden. From the time the castle was built, only the stump of the keep, the structural core of the outer walls and the wall covering the west side remain. In 1798, Margrave Karl Friedrich von Baden gave the Neueberstein estate to his son Friedrich, who had the severely dilapidated castle expanded by Friedrich Weinbrenner in 1802. Grand Duke Leopold then bought it from the state of Baden in 1829, after which changes were made in the neo-Gothic style, particularly inside, with the knights' hall, house chapel and circular room being built. In the years 1865-74, additional farm buildings were added. The keep had been removed in 1870 and was not completed in its present form until 1951. In the west section, the renewed shield wall attaches to the simple residential buildings and the keep. Particularly noteworthy is the gatehouse, which was built in 1602-09 with a decorated cast bay window and spectacle arrow slits. The former kennels now serve as access roads. The stable building, which is clearly visible from the vineyards, was planned by Heinrich Hübsch and built in 1838 by Johann Belzer from Weisenbach. In the castle courtyard is the two-storey cavalier building by Friedrich Weinbrenner, built in 1803/04, with five pointed wooden arcades as part of the half-timbered building. Since 1842, a yellow sandstone crucifixion group from Bad Herrenalb has stood here. It bears the year 1464 and is closely related stylistically to the Gernsbach sacrament house in the Jakobuskirche. The majority of the important glass painting collection of the palace is now in the state museums of Karlsruhe and Stuttgart.
(The text was kindly made available to us by the Rastatt district archive.)
Eberstein Castle Winery
The steep slopes of our winery lie above the wild and romantic Murg valley near the Baden royal town of Rastatt, having been cultivated for over 600 years. We feel committed to this centuries-old tradition and always give our best in the vineyard and cellar to inspire lovers and connoisseurs of Baden wines alike! The fact that we succeed again and again is not only due to our passion and experience, but also to the unique terroir. The sun-drenched region, our south-facing steep vineyards, the soil conditions and the special microclimate allow our wines to grow.
Wine sales and wine tastings take place in the vinotheque in the castle courtyard.